Posted on

WebAwards to Honor Best Websites in 90 Industries

It’s time to be recognized for your outstanding Web development work by winning a 2005 WebAward.

The Web Marketing Association is pleased to announce the call for entries for its 9th annual WebAward Competition, the Internet’s premier award competition that judges website development against an ever increasing Internet standard of excellence and against peer sites within 90 industries. The deadline for entry is June 1, 2005 and the competition Website is

“The WebAwards is different from other website award programs because we recognize the talented individuals and development teams as well as the Website itself,” said William Rice, President of the Web Marketing Association. “Winning has meant personal recognition for the people behind the site and a great marketing opportunity for the Website itself. That is the goal of the WebAward Competition – to provide a forum to recognize the people and organizations responsible for developing some of the most effective websites on the Net today.

Industry Categories

A complete list of past winners and the entry form for companies who wish to compete for 2005 honors can be found at for the following industries:

Advertising | Advocacy | Airline | Application Service Provider | Arts | Associations | Auction | Automobile | B2B | Bank | Beverage | Biotechnology | Broadcasting | Brokerage | Catalog | Computer: Hardware | Computer: Retailer | Computer: Software | Construction | Consulting | Consumer Goods | Credit Union | Design | Directory or Search Engine | Diversified Business | Education | Email | Employment | Energy | Entertainment | Events | E-Zine | Faith-based | Family | Fashion | Financial Services | Food Industry | Game Site | General Interest | Government | Health Care | Healthcare Provider | Home Building | Hotel and Lodging | Information Services | Institutional Services | Insurance | Interactive Services | International Business | Internet Service Provider | Intranet | Investor Relations | Investment | Legal | Leisure | Magazine | Marketing | Manufacturing | Media | Medical | Medical Equipment | Military | Movie | Music | Mutual Fund | News | Newspaper | Non-Profit | Online Community | Other | Pharmaceuticals | Portal | Professional Services | Public Relations | Publishing | Radio | Real Estate | Regional | Restaurant | Retail | School | Shopping | Small Business | Sports | Technology | Telecommunication | Toy & Hobby | Transportation | Travel | TV | University

Judging Criteria

Web sites are judged on design, innovation, content, technology, interactivity, navigation and ease of use. Each WebAward entry is judged against other entries in its industry category and then against an overall standard of excellence. A Best of Industry WebAward, a handsome plaque with the image of the winning site embossed, will be given in each of the 90 industry categories. New categories for this year include Healthcare Providers, Medical Equipment, Fashion and Technology.

Judging for the WebAwards will take place in July and August, and winners will be announced in September 2005. Judges will consist of a select group of Internet professionals who have direct experience designing and managing corporate web sites -including members of the media, advertising executives, site designers, content providers and webmasters – with an in-depth understanding of the current state-of-the-art in Web site design and technology. Past Web Marketing Association WebAward competition judges have included top executives from leading corporations, institutions and media organizations such as Ogilvy Interactive, Saatchi & Saatchi, Blattner Brunner, SAP, Comedy Central, Sun Microsystems, Refinery, Euro RSCG, EPB Interactive, New York Post Interactive, The Cincinnati Enquirer, J. Walter Thompson, Xerox, Art Institute of Pittsburgh, Modem Media, Answerthink, and Zentropy Partners.

2005 Sponsors

The 2005 WebAwards are sponsored by BURST! Media, Burrelle’s/Luce, O’Dwyer’s PR Daily, NewsUSA, Small Army Marketing Services, Perseus Software, Line56 Media, PRWeb and the World Organization of Webmasters (WOW).

Enter your Website today and be recognized for your outstanding work and create a marketing opportunity for your Website. WebAwards – Recognizing Net Excellence