Official Guidelines for the 2023 WebAward Competition

image description

who may enter

The WebAward Competition is open to all organizations and individuals involved in the process of developing web sites for organizations, companies and the government. Web sites entered must have been in general use for at least part of calendar year 2022 or early 2023. Sites that have won awards in past WebAward Competitions are eligible for the current competition.

The person submitting the entry will be considered the "nominator" and will receive all communications regarding the WebAward Competition. All changes to an entry can only be made by the nominator or by the designated backup named in the entry using the nominator account. You do not have to be a member of the Web Marketing Association (WMA) to enter.

what to submit

Each nominator must create a free nominator account and entries must be submitted online using the Online entry form found in the nominator account. A sample entry form can be viewed on the WebAward Website.  A web site is considered entered after a completed entry form is received by the WMA server and payment of the entry fee is received by the WMA prior to the competition deadline.

industry categories

See the industry categories page for a complete industry category listing. Currently there are 88 industry categories representing a broad range of options for participants.  Nominators may enter web sites in multiple categories if appropriate. The Web Marketing Association reserves the right to add or eliminate categories during the competition. The industry categories are intentionally broad based to accommodate the majority of websites developed today. If you would like to suggest a new category, please email us.

judges access to entry

The WebAward judges will be evaluating entries from June 13th through the end of August. If your site is password protected, please make sure the site is accessible to the judges during that time period.  In the event that a judge cannot access a site to evaluate it, we will make every effort to contact the nominator by email and ask for the site to be checked. If the judges are unable to review the site in a timely manner, the WMA reserves the right to disqualify the site from the competition.

award trophies and certificates

WebAwards are granted at three levels. Sites that receive the highest average score from the judges within a given industry category are awarded a "Best of Industry" WebAward and will receive a personalized WebAward statue to commemorate the achievement. Remaining sites will then be judged against a standard of overall excellence and quality for either an Outstanding WebAward or Standard of Excellence WebAward based upon the total score given to the entry by the WebAward judges. These winners will receive a personalized certificate of achievement. One site will be recognized as Best of Show and receive a special edition WebAward statue.

WebAward winners will receive a certificate or trophy personalized in the following format based on the information entered onto the official entry form:

Company To Be Recognized

Web Site Name 

WebAward Level

Additional copies of WebAward trophies, image plaques and certificates, which can be personalized to recognize individual contribution, will be available to award winners at the conclusion of the competition.  If you were involved with an award winning entry and would like to order a personalized WebAward plaque or certificate, please use our online order form.

award taxes and duties

Due to changes in international shipping requirements, nominators outside of the USA will be required to provide VAT and Tax IDs to comply with their government’s regulations. All taxes and duties are the responsibility of the winner and physical awards will not be shipped internationally without this information completed. This effects the following countries: UK, India, Brazil, China, Korea

entry fees

The fee for each entry in the WebAward Competition is $275, except for sites entered in the non-profit category, which has been reduced to $240. Entry fees are used to minimize the entry of low quality web sites and help cover the costs of the competition.  Websites submitted after the deadline date of May 31, 2023 are subject to a $50 late fee per entry in addition to normal entry fees.

Entry fees are payable online through our secure server via credit card (MasterCard, Visa, American Express) or by check. Nominators, who have security concerns, may submit their entry form online and then mail payment information to the WMA along with the site's entry number. The WMA is not responsible for misdirected entry fees when the appropriate entry number is not included. A receipt or invoice for entry fees will be generated by the entry form submission process.

To submit entry fees by mail, please make checks payable to Web Marketing Association. Checks must be drawn from a US bank in US dollars. Submit the entry online and then mail the check with the entry number clearly stated to:

Web Marketing Association
P.O. Box 475
South Wellfleet, MA 02663


International participants who wish to submit their payments through a direct bank wire transfer should contact the WMA to request wire instructions. There is a $25 USD fee for bank transfers to cover fees charged by the banks.


The 2023 deadline for entry is Friday, May 31, 2023.  Any entries submitted after May 31st will be subject to a $50 late fee.  Judging will take place in June, July and August. Winners will be notified by e-mail one week prior to the general announcement of winners tentatively set for Early-September, 2023.