Best Online Newsletter of 2008 to Be Named by Web Marketing Association

The Web Marketing Association judges will select the best online newsletters of 2008 in 86 industries as part of their sixth annual Internet Advertising Competition (IAC) Awards. The IAC Awards are the first and only industry-based advertising award competition dedicated exclusively to online advertising. Companies or agencies wishing to nominate their work for consideration may do so at before the deadline of January 31, 2008.

“Online newsletters are a critical marketing tool for many companies trying to maintain an ongoing relationship with customers and prospects,” said William Rice, president of the Web Marketing Association. “Each Online newsletter will be judged on creativity, innovation, impact, design, copywriting, and use of the medium. The IAC Awards provides an opportunity to find out who is doing an outstanding job creating online newsletters. It’s also a great marketing opportunity for the winners to promote to senior management, customers and prospects”.

The 2008 Internet Advertising Competition Awards will accept entries from 86 industries, including airline, biotech, B2B, consumer goods, education, health care, financial services, professional services, technology and travel just to name a few. Entries judged to be outstanding will receive an IAC Award. The entry receiving the highest score in each industry will be recognized as the best online newsletter for that industry.

“We believe that winning an industry specific award is more valuable to the participant. It allows the participants to be judges against their peers, just like in the marketplace,” said Rice.

The 2007 Best of Show winner for Online Newsletter was Coldwell Banker Barbara Sue Seal Properties for CBSeal eNews. The newsletter was also recognized as the Best Real Estate Online Newsletter. Other Top Online Newsletters for 2007 included:

Snowbound Imaging News Best Computer: Software Online Newsletter submitted by Snowbound Software

The Diabetes Control for Life e-Newsletter Best Consumer Goods Online Newsletter submitted by Bridge Worldwide

frog Design Mind newsletter Best Design Online Newsletter submitted by frog design, inc.

The Intevation Report Best Email Online Newsletter submitted by EmailLabs Marketing Team

Horizons Newsletter Best Financial Services Online Newsletter and Best Investor Relations Newsletter submitted by DWS Scudder Retirement Services

Cafe Britt e-Newsletters Best Food Industry Online Newsletter submitted by Cafe Britt

Discover Rush Online Best Health Care Online Newsletter submitted by Marie Mahoney and Brian Pace, Internet Communications

DWS Scudder Retirement Matters Newsletter Best Investment Online Newsletter and Best Mutual Fund Newsletter submitted by DWS Scudder Retirement Services

Mohegan Sun Insider Newsletter Best Leisure Online Newsletter submitted by Mohegan Sun

DMN eTips Drip Online Newsletter Best Marketing Online Newsletter submitted by Direct Marketing Network

BigPond Movies -Downloads newsletter Best Movie Online Newsletter submitted by The White Agency

George Mark Children’s House Bulletin Best Non-Profit Online Newsletter submitted by Northridge Interactive

SIRIUS Music Weekly Best Radio Online Newsletter submitted by SIRIUS Satellite Radio / Modus Associates

BigPond Sport – V8 supercars newsletter Best Sports Online Newsletter submitted by The White Agency

Great Florida Getaways e-Magazines Best Travel Online Newsletter submitted by VISIT FLORIDA & Miles Media Group

The 2008 Internet Advertising Competition Awards are open to all organizations and individuals (advertising and interactive agencies, corporate marketing departments, etc.) involved in the process of developing Internet advertising. Entries may be submitted online at The deadline for entry is January 31, 2008 and will be judged on creativity, innovation, impact, design, copywriting, and use of the medium.

In addition to online newsletters, Awards will be presented within each of the industry categories and advertising formats such as:
Online ad (including banner, pop-up or interstitial)
Online ad campaign
Rich media online ad
Rich Media ad campaign
Email message
Online newsletter campaign
Microsite/Landing page
Integrated ad campaign
Ads the client did not choose

Best of show award for each format will be selected from among the industry winners. Ads eligible for entry in the competition must have run during the period from January 1, 2007 through January 31, 2008 (except for the Ads the client did not choose format which do not have to have run.)

Judging for the IAC Awards will take place in February, 2008, and winners will be notified by e-mail one week prior to the general announcement of winners in March, 2008. Judges will consist of a select group of Internet advertising professionals with an in-depth understanding of the current state-of-the-art in Web advertising. Past competition judges have included top executives from leading corporations, institutions and media organizations such as Ogilvy Interactive, Blattner Brunner, Comedy Central, Sun Microsystems, National Cable & Telecom Association, Refinery, Euro RSCG, EPB Interactive, New York Post Interactive, The Cincinnati Enquirer, J. Walter Thompson, Xerox, Art Institute of Pittsburgh, Modem Media, and Answerthink.

The 2008 Internet Advertising Competition Awards are sponsored by the following leading organizations: BGT Partners, Burst Media, PRWeb, Misukanis & Odden, SimpleFeed, ExactTarget, ad:tech conferences, NewsUSA, eComXpo, MediaPost’s OMMA conference, TopRank Online Marketing, Creative Chocolate Printing Company, Search Engine Strategies, Webmaster Radio, Rovion, and eMarketer. The Web Marketing Association thanks all of its sponsors for helping to make this annual competition possible.

About the Web Marketing Association

The Web Marketing Association is an organization working to create a high standard of excellence for Web site development and marketing on the Internet. Staffed by volunteers, it is made up of Internet marketing, advertising, PR and design professionals who share an interest in improving the quality of advertising, marketing and promotion used to attract visitors to Web sites. Since 1997, the Web Marketing Association’s annual WebAward Competition has been helping interactive professionals promote themselves, their companies, and their best work to the outside world. Now in its 11th year, the WebAward Competition has become the premier industry-based site recognition program for online advertisers, Web developers and marketers worldwide.

No Comments yet

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Powered by WordPress with GimpStyle Theme design by Horacio Bella.
Entries and comments feeds. Valid XHTML and CSS.